Welcome to Be Happy Be Free

annie-spratt-167089

Welcome to Be Happy and Be Free, a blog by Julie and Nikki about living a healthy and balanced life.

We will be taking you through each of our journeys and covering everything we wished we had more information about at the different points in our lives.

About Nikki: 

I am 26 years old and a single mum. I live just outside of Edinburgh with my two beautiful children and our cat Lily. I will be writing posts about overcoming binge eating, having a balanced lifestyle, finding the time to work-out when you have kids and most importantly learning to love yourself and your body, which is something I personally have struggled with for as long as I can remember.

This all started for me back in summer 2016 when I decided to make a positive change in my life. I am taking part in the Macmillan Mighty Hike which I have been training for and I will share my journey with you along the way.

For me my struggle with body image isn’t over but I am on the right track and determined to get there. One of the most important things I have learnt so far is that being a plus size girl is not a negative thing. In fact I’m quite proud to hold that title and I want to break the stigma surrounding it. You can be plus sized and you can be healthy. It’s just about finding that balance and finding that love for yourself.

About Julie:
I am 27 years old and I live in a small town near Edinburgh with my husband and our cat Poppy.  I work full time in an office in the centre of Edinburgh.  I will be writing posts mainly around my journey with food, dieting and exercising.

My healthy journey started in 2013 when I decided I wanted to lose weight. I successfully lost 3.5 stone strict calorie counting over the space of just around a year.  Eventually I became so obsessed with the amount I was eating that I used to have binge days because I was always hungry from restricting all the time and avoid healthy “high calorie” foods. This caused me to try more and more fad diets to get back to my lowest weight. Last year I stopped dieting, counting and tracking and have successfully maintained my weight since then by intuitive eating and only exercising for fun!

I am currently training for my first 5k and 10k races along with my second Moonwalk which I will be documenting week by week.  I also love cooking and will be sharing some easy healthy recipes I use during my busy schedules along with how I try to eat healthy but balanced at work.

bruno-nascimento-149663

We would love to hear what other posts you would be interested in reading about in the comments below.

Julie and Nikki

Leave a Reply

